Best practice for homelab storage

-RYknow

Apr 2, 2017
I'm hoping for some input and guidance on the best options for my situation. I have a dell r610, with an LSI 9200-8e, and a Lenovo SA120. I also have a dedicated freenas box with 6x 4tb drives. Ultimately my goal is to pull the drives from my current freenas box, move them into the DAS, and have proxmox (either at the host level, a VM or a container) handle the sharing of the pool I currently have setup. I'm a noob with proxmox and my research has left me feeling more confused.

For testing purposes I have a couple of WD 1tb Black drives that I'm using (want to figure out how/what I'm doing before I move all my data over). I initially setup a freenas VM and passed the drives through to the VM, My network transfer speeds (via cifs) was pretty crappy (~44 MB/sec). I did a bit of testing with hdparm to one of the drives in the DAS and was getting 108 MB/sec. The drives were configured in a mirror, so maybe that's why I had a hit in performance? But, none the less, it seemed a little slow for me. So I started researching.

I know that zfs is supported natively on Proxmox, but I'm just wondering what the best, most reliable way to add NAS like features is?
  • Am I better off to create a zfs mirror from within proxmox, and share it directly over my network from there?
  • Should I create the mirror, and then use a container to manage the sharing?
  • Is a VM the better option, and if so, how do I get better performance?
Again, which ever is the best option will need to be something that works easily to import my raidz2 dataset currently sitting in my dedicated Freenas box. I'm hoping for some guidance on how to achieve which ever is the better option. Like I said before, I'm a noob with proxmox.

Thanks for your time.
-RYknow