Backup no longer works after upgrade to 2.3

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by Nico Haase, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. Nico Haase

    Nico Haase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi there,
    I upgraded to Proxmox 2.3 yesterday, and today I received a status mail claiming that the backup didn't work. This is the detailed log:
    Code:
    vzdump 104 --quiet 1 --mailto ninja@D120.de --mode snapshot --compress lzo --storage ninjaMounted --node proxmox
    
    104: Mar 05 14:00:02 INFO: Starting Backup of VM 104 (qemu)
    104: Mar 05 14:00:02 INFO: status = running
    104: Mar 05 14:00:02 INFO: backup mode: snapshot
    104: Mar 05 14:00:02 INFO: ionice priority: 7
    104: Mar 05 14:00:02 INFO: creating archive '/mnt/pve/ninja/dump/vzdump-qemu-104-2013_03_05-14_00_02.vma.lzo'
    104: Mar 05 14:00:02 ERROR: Parameter 'backupfile' is missing
    104: Mar 05 14:00:02 INFO: aborting backup job
    104: Mar 05 14:00:02 ERROR: VM 104 qmp command 'backup-cancel' failed - The command backup-cancel has not been found
    104: Mar 05 14:00:03 ERROR: Backup of VM 104 failed - Parameter 'backupfile' is missing
    The backup was running using LVM snapshots until yesterday, but as this has changed (or haven't it...?) the backup jobs should have been updated through the upgraded...?
     
  2. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,400
    Likes Received:
    294
    The new backup uses new qemu features, so you need to stop, then re-start the VM to make it work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Nico Haase

    Nico Haase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is this documented anywhere? Why can't the backup run the old way unto the next reboot? I can be happy to have only two VMs and not more, and these are also uncritical to reboot....
     
  4. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,404
    Likes Received:
    384
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Cayuga

    Cayuga Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I discovered that you can get around this problem with out stopping/restarting the VM. Just migrate it to another node (and migrate back if you want).
     
  6. ozgurerdogan

    ozgurerdogan Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0

    Only stop and srart vm is enough? Why you mention about migration?
     
  7. Cayuga

    Cayuga Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my usage here, I've been able to get around the problem about 40 times by migrating machines rather than stopping/starting.
     
  8. ozgurerdogan

    ozgurerdogan Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do not you try stop / start as an easier way?
     
  9. Cayuga

    Cayuga Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because downtime wasn't a good option for us and we wanted the vm's backed up.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice