Another SSD-related question about health and storage options

dkong

Aug 13, 2017
Dear Proxmox community,

I have yet another question about Proxmox and SSD's. I apologize if the following is too redundant but I was not able to find exact answers and I'm hoping the people here can provide some perspective. I would be very thankful and will provide my experiences and results here in the future if I'm able to get Proxmox working for my scenario.

A while back I installed Proxmox on my old HP ML110 G7. The only drive in the box is an older Kingston 120GB consumer SSD. After letting it run for about a day, even without any VM's running, I noticed the health status of the SSD decreased rather fast. When I read some posts on this forum I discovered that Proxmox, at least since version 4, can kill consumer SSD's in a heartbeat.

I've been using ESXi at home for a couple of years. I just install ESXi on a USB-stick and then add a couple of consumer SSD's (Samsung Pro series) as datastores. There never was a problem with that setup.
I'd like to move from ESXi to Proxmox but it would kind of suck if that forces me to spend way more on enterprise class SSD's. I want to do some testing first on the ML110 with two or three nested Proxmox instances on top of a bare metal Proxmox install. This will be mainly to learn about and test DRBD and Ceph configurations, without any serious workloads on top. I am going to get a Samsung PM863a (240GB) for that, which should be up to it. After this experience I would like to move my main box to Proxmox.