After Proxmox VE 5.2-10 Update Windows VM doesnt start

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by elyday, Nov 10, 2018.

Tags:
  1. elyday

    elyday New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    my Windows VM does not want to start after the update from 4.x to 5.2-10. As an error I get

    Hyper-V SynIC is not supported by kernel
    kvm: kvm_init_vcpu failed: Function not implemented

    back.

    This is what I can offer you:
    root@root590:/etc# pveversion -v
    proxmox-ve: 5.2-2 (running kernel: 4.4.13-2-pve)
    pve-manager: 5.2-10 (running version: 5.2-10/6f892b40)
    pve-kernel-4.15: 5.2-11
    pve-kernel-4.15.18-8-pve: 4.15.18-28
    pve-kernel-4.4.134-1-pve: 4.4.134-112
    pve-kernel-4.4.95-1-pve: 4.4.95-99
    pve-kernel-4.4.40-1-pve: 4.4.40-82
    pve-kernel-4.4.13-2-pve: 4.4.13-58
    corosync: 2.4.2-pve5
    criu: 2.11.1-1~bpo90
    glusterfs-client: 3.8.8-1
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.2-2
    libjs-extjs: 6.0.1-2
    libpve-access-control: 5.0-8
    libpve-apiclient-pearl: 2.0-5
    libpve-common-perl: 5.0-41
    libpve-guest-common-perl: 2.0-18
    libpve-http-server-perl: 2.0-11
    libpve-storage-perl: 5.0-30
    libqb0: 1.0.1-1
    <font color=#38B0DE>-==- Proudly Presents
    lxc-pve: 3.0.2+pve1-3
    lxcfs: 3.0.2-2
    novnc-pve: 1.0.0-2
    proxmox widget toolkit: 1.0-20
    pve-cluster: 5.0-30
    pve-container: 2.0-29
    pve-docs: 5.2-9
    pve-firewall: 3.0-14
    pve firmware: 2.0-6
    pve-ha-manager: 2.0-5
    pve-i18n: 1.0-6
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.14.1-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.12.1-1
    pve-xtermjs: 1.0-5
    qemu-server: 5.0-38
    smartmontools: 6.5+svn4324-1
    spiceterm: 3.0-5
    vncterm: 1.5-3
    root@root590:/etc# sqm config 118
    bootdisk: ide0
    cores: 8
    ide0: SSD:118/vm-118-disk-1.qcow2,size=20G
    ide2: local:iso/WindowsServer2012x64_EN.iso,media=cdrom
    memory: 7168
    name: MC
    net0: e1000=1E:B7:E3:D1:99:3D,bridge=vmbr0
    numa: 0
    ostype: win8
    scsihw: virtio-scsi-pci
    smbios1: uuid=3cf62827-5352-4c47-a42b-c9df4be5ddd2
    sockets: 1
     
  2. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,216
    Likes Received:
    362
    Why do you run still this very old kernel? You installed already latest 4.15, but it looks like you missed to reboot your host.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. elyday

    elyday New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have rebooted the machine several times since the update
     
  4. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    281
    then you have configured your system to run from the 4.4 kernel, please boot your machine with the newer kernel, otherwise this will not work
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. elyday

    elyday New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    And how can i configure that the system will boot with the newer kernel?
     
  6. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    281
    normally this is done automatically, the person which configured this would have to know
    but i would check /etc/default/grub for example
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. elyday

    elyday New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have checked the grub config but dont find smth about which Kernel will be loaded.

    Here is the grub config

    # If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update
    # /boot/grub/grub.cfg.
    # For full documentation of the options in this file, see:
    # info -f grub -n 'Simple configuration'

    GRUB_DEFAULT=0
    GRUB_TIMEOUT=5
    GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR="Proxmox Virtual Environment"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

    # Disable os-prober, it might add menu entries for each guest
    GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=true

    # Uncomment to enable BadRAM filtering, modify to suit your needs
    # This works with Linux (no patch required) and with any kernel that obtains
    # the memory map information from GRUB (GNU Mach, kernel of FreeBSD ...)
    #GRUB_BADRAM="0x01234567,0xfefefefe,0x89abcdef,0xefefefef"

    # Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
    #GRUB_TERMINAL=console

    # The resolution used on graphical terminal
    # note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
    # you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
    #GRUB_GFXMODE=640x480

    # Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

    # Disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
    GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY="true"

    # Uncomment to get a beep at grub start
    #GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"
     
  8. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    281
    the output looks ok
    how does tho output of
    Code:
    update-grub
    
    look like?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. elyday

    elyday New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Output:
    Generating grub configuration file ...
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.15.18-8-pve
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.15.18-8-pve
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.9.0-8-amd64
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.9.0-8-amd64
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.134-1-pve
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.134-1-pve
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.95-1-pve
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.95-1-pve
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.40-1-pve
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.40-1-pve
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.13-2-pve
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.13-2-pve
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-7-amd64
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-7-amd64
    done
     
  10. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    281
    this output shows the new kernel on top

    it should be automatically selected on the next boot
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. elyday

    elyday New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have restarted the host but he doesnt apply the new kernel :|
     
  12. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    281
    ok maybe you should try to monitor the boot process and see what is selected in grub...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. elyday

    elyday New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately I do not have the possibility to accompany the boat process visually.
     
  14. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    281
    did you (or somebody else) change anything of the boot process?
    for example installed kexec, syslinux, etc. ?

    if not, i am not sure how to help you when you cannot follow the boot process
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. elyday

    elyday New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, i have found a way to watch the boot process.
    There are only two advanced entries.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    281
    do you maybe boot from the wrong disk ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. elyday

    elyday New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, it already boots from the right disc, especially since this is also a raid system.
     
  18. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    281
    i do not know why, but obviously your grub config does not get updated...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice