Adding node to cluster doesn't work

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by CmasterG, Sep 26, 2018.

  1. CmasterG

    CmasterG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I have the following problem. I added a node to the cluster and it told me that it was successfully added and I see it in the web interface. The problem is, that it is marked with an X and whenever I want to access the shell of this node the message: Connection failed (Error 500: hostname lookup 'm3mca1703' failed - failed to get address info for: m3mca1703: Temporary failure in name resolution)

    Does anyone know how to fix this?

    Thanks a lot!

    Cheers
     
  2. Alwin

    Alwin Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    191
    Did you add the node into DNS or the hosts file?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. CmasterG

    CmasterG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    Thanks that helped. Now I can open the shell from the other node, but when I want to access the Summary it says "Tls_process_server_certificate: certificate verify failed (596)" and the node is shown as offline.

    Cheers
     
  4. t.lamprecht

    t.lamprecht Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    153
    Seems a bit weird, all in all.... how exactly did you add the node? And are you sure both nodes where in good state when adding?

    can you open the other (problematic) nodes webinterface just fine?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. CmasterG

    CmasterG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I can open both web interfaces and on the web interface of node 1 I see node 2 as offline and in the web interface of node2 I see node 1 as offline.

    I created a cluster at node 1 via
    pvecm create testCluster

    then I went to node 2 and typed:
    pvecm add ip_of_node1

    The output was..node successfully added

    Cheers
     
  6. CmasterG

    CmasterG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed that I don't have the certificate files on node 2, but when I execute
    pvecm updatecerts -f
    it tells me:
    no quorum - unable to update files
     
  7. t.lamprecht

    t.lamprecht Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    153
    Hmm, something is really off...

    You can try if you can temporarily overwrite the quorum requirements with
    Code:
    pvecm expected 1
    
    and the run
    Code:
    pvecm updatecerts -f
    systemctl restart pveproxy pvedaemon
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. CmasterG

    CmasterG New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    That worked, but it doesn't change anything...still the same error message
     
  9. bizzarrone

    bizzarrone Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    me the same
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice