Adding Multiple Physical Disks to VM

ptmuldoon

Apr 28, 2012
I'm just getting started with all this virtualization stuff, but making some progress.

I installed ProxMox, and for my first VM installed Ubuntu Server.

Now, I'm trying to add a couple of Physical disks to the VM (to use as fileserver). There are drives sdb and sdc, and fdisk shows the following. Eventually, I'll move over 4 disk raid 5 setup, but just learning for now.

Code:
Disk /dev/sdb: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xe14d6285

Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               2       77825   625121280   83  Linux

Disk /dev/sdc: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000b6d3f

Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdc1               1       77826   625130496   83  Linux

I followed the WIKI here, but can only seem to get 1 disk to show up.

http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/FAQ#How_can_I_assign_a_physical_disk_to_a_VM.3F

I entered these two commands but get an 'unable to change media' when trying to add the 2nd drive
Code:
root@server1:~# qm set 100 -ide1 /dev/sdb1
root@server1:~# qm set 100 -ide2 /dev/sdc1
unable to change media type

Am I doing something in correct?

Last edited:
You are trying to assign physical disks to a VM?
You are aware of that any physical device you assign to a VM cannot be shared with the other VM's and host?
Also assigning physical devices to a VM means no migration and HA!

You are trying to assign physical disks to a VM?