1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adding an existing virtual disk image

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by caracolla, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. caracolla

    caracolla New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I haven't found a way to add an existing virtual disk image to a VM via web ui
    Is this feature (working in 1.x) planned?
     
  2. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    55
    you need to move/copy the file to the right storage via CLI or SCP tools (like winscp if you are on windows).

    as soon as the files are there, you can add them via GUI to VM (1.9 and also on 2.0).
     
  3. caracolla

    caracolla New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    The web UI does not "see" the image in the local storage (example in '/var/lib/vz/images/100' ).
    With Add->Hard Disk procedure, the UI does not allow to choose the already existing image file
     
  4. ods

    ods New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    just create a new image with proper properties(qcow,raw,virtio...)
    copy your image to the /mnt/pve/SOMETHING/images/100/ folder (if 100 is your vmid)
    and than rename your image
    "mv oldimage.img vm-100-disk-1.qcow2"
     
  5. caracolla

    caracolla New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please read my previous answer. The web UI does not see the existing image file
     
  6. ods

    ods New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes and thats why i told you to create a new one
     
  7. caracolla

    caracolla New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Already done before without you suggestion.
    But this is a dirty hack and not the way the interface should work
     
  8. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    55
    works here. maybe wrong permissions?
     
  9. caracolla

    caracolla New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just changed permission of the raw image fille to 666, same negative result.
    Maybe I have completely misunderstood the interface.
    Here is a screen shot for Add->Hard Disk window

    hd.jpg

    It seems not possible to pick an image file from a list.

    Here is a screenshot from a 1.9 server:

    hdOld.jpg
    In the 2.0 beta2 the section 'Use an existing virtual disk' is completely missing
     
  10. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    55
    see this screenshot - should look like this. but there seems to be an issue, will dig deeper.

    unused-disks.png
     
  11. xlnt

    xlnt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the very same problem and I was also going to ask about the same thing.
     
  12. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    55

Share This Page