Accessing Proxmox configuration on a two nic system

Dilby

Jan 23, 2020
Hi,

I'm new to Proxmox and have a basic understanding of a simple home network. My system comprises of two physical NICs and I want to virtualise opnsense firewall on the platform.

eth0 - WAN
eth1 - LAN

I have two bridges set up in proxmox:
vmbr0 - pointing to eth0 (WAN)
vmbr1 - pointing to eth1 (LAN), static IP set as 192.168.100.2, done as a part of installing proxmox and the interface is enabled only on the LAN interface.

opnfense is setup with a static IP of 192.168.0.1 on vmbr1 and also issuing DHCP.

To get into the proxmox configuration I have to manually configure one of my machines on the LAN to be a 192.1668.100.x IP and then i can access the web UI. Otherwise, the LAN device are simply obtaining an IP from opnsense via DHCP.

I just want to check my set-up is sound, as it seems to be working fine but want to ensure something is not exposed/set-up incorrectly. Is there a more elegant soloution to manually configuring the IP to access the proxmox GUI (short of adding a third NIC) ?

Thanks for your help.

Last edited:
Do you want to be able to access the Proxmox VE Webinterface from all Devices in the LAN?
As then you could either:
* make the subnet which the pfSense tells it's DHCP clients bigger: 191.168.0.0/17 (netmask 255.255.128.0) would include 191.168.0.1 - 191.168.127.254, so the client's would know the Webinterface is in the same subnet.

* change the Proxmox VE IP statically to one in 191.168.0.0/24

You could maybe also just tell a linux box that you reach 192.168.100.2 by adding a local route:
ip route add 192.168.100.2/32 dev eth0 proto kernel scope link, eth0 would be the interface of the client connected to LAN.

* change the Proxmox VE IP statically to one in 191.168.0.0/24

Ahh yes, didn't think of this, thank you! This would also simplify getting internet access to Proxmox as I wasn't sure of a way to get Proxmox to be able to access the 192.168.0.1 gateway.