2 LUNs shows as multiple disks on node

anton.louw

Mar 4, 2020
Hi All,

I am fairly new to this, so it might be a simple issue. I have node that I have presented storage to from a SAN using FC. I have installed multipathing on the node, but if I run 'lsblk', I see multiple entries for my two LUNs. Is there something I am missing? I have attached screenshots for reference.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Attachments

• lsblk.png
    lsblk.png
    84.4 KB · Views: 61
  • mu;tipath-ll.png
    mu;tipath-ll.png
    26.5 KB · Views: 61
Yes, that's normal. You can install LVM on your multipathed luns in /dev/mapper/36*. I'd suggest to name your luns properly. An example for that is here.

You way would be:
- pvcreate /dev/mapper/<lun-name> (for all entries there)
- if you want everything in one big chunk of space, create a volumegroup with both luns vgcreate san-lvm /dev/mapper/<lun-name1> /dev/mapper/<lun-name2>
- now you can add a new LVM via the PVE gui and store everything on there.

Reactions: freddypracso
Another solution is to partition, format, mount and use like local for storing qcow or raw files, in this case flag it like shared, i think proxmox cluster will manage concurrencies on access to the luns.

Another solution is to partition, format, mount and use like local for storing qcow or raw files, in this case flag it like shared, i think proxmox cluster will manage concurrencies on access to the luns.
Have you tried and tested that?

The "shared" flag for directory storages i meant for shared storages via Samba/Cifs or NFS. Accessing the same FS on a block level from multiple machines will corrupt it.

Have you tried and tested that?
:) Not yet, I'm working on it right now.

I'm trying to figure out how to implement that situation.

I have a twin blade setup on a Bladecenter backed by a Storewize 7000 FC attached with HBA adapter.