Update Error with Coral TPU Drivers

Still not working for me. No error messages - just nothing in /dev/apex*

Note that I am not fluent with linux and I am also new to Proxmox, but from the PVE shell, if you run "lspci" do you see the coral edge tpu?

If so, if you run "lsmod | grep apex" what is the output?

Reactions: bawjaws
Note that I am not fluent with linux and I am also new to Proxmox, but from the PVE shell, if you run "lspci" do you see the coral edge tpu?

If so, if you run "lsmod | grep apex" what is the output?
That makes two of us! I've been using them both for a couple of years and every time I think I'm just about starting to understand things, something like this comes along and puts me back in my place :)

LSPCI does indeed show the TPUs:

Code:
08:00.0 System peripheral: Global Unichip Corp. Coral Edge TPU
09:00.0 System peripheral: Global Unichip Corp. Coral Edge TPU

lsmod | grep apex shows nothing. This is perhaps a good time to state an assumption that I've been making which (if incorrect) may be the root of my troubles. I've been assuming that as proxmox is passing through the PCIe Coral TPU devices that only Ubuntu needs to have the drivers loaded for them. Given that you're suggesting looking on the PVE shell I think that means I've been toiling on the wrong machine. Have I?

EDIT: I've gone back over the install notes for doing Frigate in a VM on Proxmox and they do say to just blacklist gasket and apex on Proxmox, pass them through to the Ubuntu VM and then install the drivers in Ubuntu, so I think I've done the right things. Although I have little confidence - I've obviosuly made a silly mistake somewhere :rolleyes:

Last edited:
That makes two of us! I've been using them both for a couple of years and every time I think I'm just about starting to understand things, something like this comes along and puts me back in my place :)

LSPCI does indeed show the TPUs:

Code:
08:00.0 System peripheral: Global Unichip Corp. Coral Edge TPU