Trouble wrapping my head around containers

happnatious1

Jul 9, 2023
Background:
Was running ESXI 6.5 and VMWare Workstation for years but a recent ESXI upgrade killed usb audio passthrough. Found Proxmox and was able to export all my
VMs to it and I am impressed. Uptime as of this post is 8 days. Server is 32 cores with 60g of memory.

Problem:
I have no experience with containers. I tried creating a Debian 12 container in proxmox and I added Portainer to it but it seems that I cant add any other containers to it. I would like to have a ddns container, a guacamole container, and a RustDesk container. Do I need to install a full Debian vm with docker and portainer to host multiple containers, or does each docker container need to be on it's own container within proxmox? Am I approaching this all wrong?

Can't seem to wrap my head around containers in Proxmox.

If your lxc container with docker inside is running on zfs storage, well you need to enable nesting at least.
But even then not all docker container will work. Some will, some won't on zfs as storage.

The easiest way is to create an ext4 dataset...
Means simply add an dataset with a fixed size, like 50gb for example and format that dataset as ext4, then mount it somewhere on your host and add that directory under the datacenter tree as container storage.

Then simply move the drive of your lxc container to that new ext4 storage.

After that, all docker containers should work.

Reactions: Darkk
Thanks Ramalama,

I am indeed on zfs mirror storage.
I found https://github.com/afro-systems/lxc-guac-setup for getting guacamole running on a LXC container unfortunately it requires Debian 10 which proxmox doesn't have a template for.

I'd like to keep my zfs mirrors in case of drive failure so it looks like I'll have to stick with full VMs instead.

Thank you for the insight.

Thanks Ramalama,

I am indeed on zfs mirror storage.