Setting up shorewall

nic0

Mar 12, 2012
Hi
I'll be the first one to admit that I am a total newbie so bare with me. I have a server running proxmox and I plan to host our library management system and student information system on it.

My problem is that since I do not really know how to configure the networking I am currently stuck. How do I set my networking that my KVMs are visible in our network?

My /etc/network/interfaces is
Code:
auto loiface lo inet loopback

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
        address 192.168.109.2
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        gateway 192.168.109.254
        bridge_ports eth0
        bridge_stp off
        bridge_fd 0

I would like to have the library system to be visible on address 192.168.109.3.

I started to configure shorewall with the guide from http://www.montanalinux.org/proxmox-ve-with-shorewall-part2.html but I cannot seem to make it work:
Code:
[B]Checking configuration ..[/B]

[SIZE=-1]Checking...Processing /etc/shorewall/params ...Processing /etc/shorewall/shorewall.conf...Loading Modules...Checking /etc/shorewall/zones...Checking /etc/shorewall/interfaces...Determining Hosts in Zones...Locating Action Files...Checking /usr/share/shorewall/action.Drop for chain Drop...Checking /usr/share/shorewall/action.Broadcast for chain Broadcast...Checking /usr/share/shorewall/action.Invalid for chain Invalid...Checking /usr/share/shorewall/action.NotSyn for chain NotSyn...Checking /usr/share/shorewall/action.Reject for chain Reject...Checking /etc/shorewall/policy...Checking /etc/shorewall/notrack...Running /etc/shorewall/initdone...Checking Kernel Route Filtering...Checking Martian Logging...Checking MAC Filtration -- Phase 1...Checking /etc/shorewall/rules...Checking /usr/share/shorewall/action.Invalid for chain %Invalid... [/SIZE][COLOR=#333333]   ERROR: Rules with a DESTINATION Bridge Port zone must have a SOURCE zone on the same bridge : /usr/share/shorewall/macro.DNS (line 11)[/COLOR]