Proxmox suddenly not accessible via web gui, SSH or ping. Appears to be still working via terminal on device itself.

Fookes

Mar 27, 2024
I'm making this enquiry on behalf of a friend but seeing as I got him in to this I feel kind of responsible! That said, I'm still an absolute novice so terminology will likely be well off. Please be gentle!

So, he states that after initially configuring a couple of containers (for running, Homebridge and Scrypted) he has also just added one for MQTT. All went well, he said, and the container was working. Fast forward a couple of days and he tried to access Proxmox via web GUI. He gets a ' aThis site cannot be reached'. He has tried pinging the machine running Proxmox (an old MacBook Pro connected via ethernet) without success. It also times out if trying to SSH in to it. Here's the odd thing. It appears that it is still running as he gets the login prompt in terminal on the MacBook when he restarts it. It displays the right IP address and he can log in to it. Even stranger is that Proxmox doesn't appear on his connected devices list on his router.

He has changed nothing, aside from adding MQTT container a couple of days prior (which seemed to work for a couple of days without issue). He (and I) are at a loss as to what is going on here. I'm presuming it's network-related but I'm not positive. In error he didn't give it a static IP address (although he did for the services running in containers - both of which are also unreachable).

Can anyone make any suggestions as to what has gone on here or how to remedy it? The only other bit of useless info I got from him was that an error appeared yesterday when he logged in which briefly mentioned USB but needless to say he didn't take a screenshot or make note of it! He was able ti dismiss this and boot in.

Whilst he doesn't have loads of stuff on Proxmox, he'd obviously prefer a fix rather than a wipe and fresh install.

Thanks