Proxmox stuck at loading initial ramdisk

Adminnovate

Apr 7, 2024
Hi all,

I am new to proxmox and linux/debian and i am used to windows but i love proxmox Gui and backup solution so i want to give it a try.
But i am really struggling to get past loading initial ramdisk.

Have read something that i might need ot change the Kernel, but i have no clue how to do that.
And somthing with initramfs but i donbt know how to change this is that in grub or bash.

How can i alter this if its not found? when using bash

Any thoughts?

Hi,

did you use the latest 8.1-2 ISO?
How did you boot the ISO? I guess via a USB flash drive - if yes, how exactly did you write the image to the USB drive?

Also, what kind of hardware are you dealing with? Motherboard/firmware vendor and version would be the most important here.

Check

I am using a asrock rack x470d4u/vn motherboard with ipmi capabilities
Indeed booted with usb and did this with rufus.
Partition scheme : MBR Bios uefi-csm
Filesystem Fat32
cluster size 8192 kb

Motherboard version is 2.2

And the version of proxmox is indeed the latest 8.1-2 iso

Last edited:
Before i had hyper-v running properly on windows server 2019 and havent formatted anything when changing to proxmox.
So the partitions r still there on the other disks. but the os has been inserted into the ssd for only OS install.

Got the same problem trying to install on a Dell PowerEdge T340. Can install Microsoft OS, ESXI, XCP-NG with no issues, but proxmox stops loading initial RAMdisk.

I tried to make a bootable usb in balena etcher and this has the same outcome stuck at loading initial ramdisk.
Can it has something to do with the fact that i have onboard graphics that cant be enable at startup? something with nomodeset?
If so how can i alter this? if this is not

Als tried to instal debian 12.5.0 this on the other hand wont even install, i see the install menu and then when i click praphical install then its shuts down my mouse and does absolutely nothing.