Proxmox passes through Intel iGPU to Ubuntu Server 22.04 VM, but no kernel drivers are used or available

zaxolotl

Jun 29, 2023
I'm relatively new to Proxmox, so I may be missing something here, but I'm hoping someone might have some insight into what is going on. I have an HP Mini I run Proxmox on that hosts an Ubuntu Server 22.04 VM. I'd like to pass the integrated Intel HD 530 graphics card to this VM, to use QuickSync for transcoding in the VM. So far, I have updated my host's grub:

Bash:
GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_TIMEOUT=5
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
#GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet intel_iommu=on iommu=pt nox2apic"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

as well as added the vfio modules to /etc/modules:

Bash:
vfio
vfio_iommu_type1
vfio_pci
vfio_virqfd

From here, I've added the GPU as a PCI device to the VM in the PVE GUI, selecting 'All functions', 'ROM-Bar', and 'PCI Express'.

After rebooting the host, it does seem that it uses vfio for the card:

Bash:
# On host:
> lspci -v

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 530 (rev 06) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
    DeviceName: Onboard IGD
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company HD Graphics 530
    Flags: fast devsel, IRQ 16, IOMMU group 1
    Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
    Memory at c0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
    I/O ports at 4000 [size=64]
    Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [virtual] [disabled] [size=128K]
    Capabilities: [40] Vendor Specific Information: Len=0c <?>
    Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
    Capabilities: [ac] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
    Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 2
    Capabilities: [100] Process Address Space ID (PASID)
    Capabilities: [200] Address Translation Service (ATS)
    Capabilities: [300] Page Request Interface (PRI)
    Kernel driver in use: vfio-pci
    Kernel modules: i915