Proxmox Installation

Proxgbola

Mar 1, 2024
I am new to proxmox, I tried to install proxmox on HP Z440 10-Core E5-2640 v4 2.40GHz 128GB RAM 2x 2TB HDD No OS , the problem I have is the Management network configuration page. It doesn’t ping anything when I tried to check except the gateway

Reactions: ultraforce
Similar situation with a dell machine, left the gateway and IP CIDR as the defaults but have not been able to access proxmox through the web.

@Proxgbola you would need to provide:
a) output of "ip a"
b) output of "cat /etc/network/interfaces"
c) output of "ipconfig /all" or similar OS specific command from your working workstation

@ultraforce is the reason why you left the defaults during the installation because your network happens to use these values as well? Please see above for the information that is required.

Blockbridge : Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox

a) output of "ip a"
c) output of "ipconfig /all" or similar OS specific command from your working workstation

@ultraforce is the reason why you left the defaults during the installation because your network happens to use these values as well? Please see above for the information that is required.

Blockbridge : Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox
I actually left the defaults because I'm not very familiar with network configuration and what would be the proper settings. I temporarily last year had proxmox working on the a machine using defaults so I thought it might still work roperly.

a)

1:lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
inet6 ::1/128 scope host noprefixroute
2: eno1: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast master vmbrr0 state DOWN group default qlen 1000