Local LVM Storage

killswitchin

Mar 17, 2024
Hi,
I am new to proxmox and was wondering why my local-lvm is filling up when I transferred media files to a completely different drive. My scenario was, I had a windows 11 vm spun up with 8TB HDD, I connected an external SSD via usb and passed it through to the VM no problem but I noticed as I transferred the files not only was it filling up the HDD but also the local-lvm (NVMeSSD) as well. My questions are 1.Why would it put data on my local-lvm if I'm transferring files to a completely different drive? (please note all this is all default settings in proxmox from a fresh install) 2. When I was searching for resolution for my issue on how to remove files from the local-lVM all I could find was how to expand the local and not how to clean up the local-lvm. How do I locate and clear the data from the local-lvm so I don't have to do a fresh install and start over? (I was looking into this because there should be no reason for the local-lvm to be used and you can start getting IO errors if the local-lvm is full when starting the vm)

Reactions: memeske
"local-lvm" is the default storage where your virtual disks are stored. In case you didn't add more phsyical disks/storages the 8TB virtual disks of that Win 11 VM is probably stored on that "local-lvm" storage.
As with any other thin-provisioned storages...you will have to enable discard for that VM on the PVE node and tell the guest OS to do regular TRIMs/discards for space to be freed up again.

Reactions: Kingneutron