Kernel not updating after reboot

osopolar

Nov 3, 2022
Hi Guys

Everytime for the past 4 updates i get taken to old looking install menu saying kernel old and i need to reboot to update.
I agree then it shows which service would you like to restart but only 1 selected .
But after every reboot i dont think my kernel is being updated i still see Linux proxmox 6.5.13-5-pve #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC PMX 6.5.13-5 (2024-04-05T11:03Z) x86_64 GNU/Linux

If i do a manual apt update apt upgrade it says everything is fine ??

That looks fine. Did you run apt dist-upgrade, did it work? Is your system booting from the drive/partition that is updated?
Do you want me to run apt dist-upgradefrom terminal inside Proxmox or can i so it via a ssh login ?

It looks dist-ugprade worked. Make sure proxmox-boot-tool updates the ESPs that your system uses to boot from, if you still don't get the option during boot to use kernel 6.8.
HI
I am a noob to Proxmox so still trying to find my way round it
Last login: Sun Apr 28 09:09:16 BST 2024 on pts/0
root@proxmox:~# proxmox-boot-tool status
Re-executing '/usr/sbin/proxmox-boot-tool' in new private mount namespace..
E: /etc/kernel/proxmox-boot-uuids does not exist.
root@proxmox:~#

This looks wrong is it possible to fix it ?

HI
I am a noob to Proxmox so still trying to find my way round it
Last login: Sun Apr 28 09:09:16 BST 2024 on pts/0
root@proxmox:~# proxmox-boot-tool status
Re-executing '/usr/sbin/proxmox-boot-tool' in new private mount namespace..
E: /etc/kernel/proxmox-boot-uuids does not exist.
root@proxmox:~#

This looks wrong is it possible to fix it ?
Looks like proxmox-boot-tool is not managing your boot partitions, which is unexpected for a recent Proxmox installation. Maybe search for "switching to proxmox-boot-tool"?

EDIT: How did you install Proxmox?

Looks like proxmox-boot-tool is not managing your boot partitions, which is unexpected for a recent Proxmox installation. Maybe search for "switching to proxmox-boot-tool"?