Installing Proxmox 8.1. crashing when loading nvidiafb driver

henriii

May 18, 2022
Hi,

I built a brand new server with the below components:
  • MB: ASUS TUF GAMING B650-PLUS
  • CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 7950X
  • RAM: CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB DDR5 RAM 96Go (2x48Go) 5600MHz (CMH96GX5M2B5600C40)
  • NVME: 2x Samsung 990 Pro 4 To, NVMe M.2, PCIe 4.0;4, MZ-V9P4T0CW
  • GPU: MSI GT 710 2GD3H LP Nvidia GT710 954 MHz 2048 Mo PCI Express

When I'm trying to install Proxmox 8.1. using a bootable USB, it crashes when I launch the installation using GUI...

How should I proceed?

Thanks for you help!

(I'm a beginner in Proxmox)

Attachments

• IMG_0859.jpg
    IMG_0859.jpg
    330.1 KB · Views: 9
Looks like a problem with the NVIDIA card/driver. You could try „nomodeset“ in the boot options or the console/text installer mode.

Maybe that's why nvidiafb is blacklisted by Proxmox in /etc/modprobe.d/pve-blacklist.conf:
Code:
# This file contains a list of modules which are not supported by Proxmox VE

# nvidiafb see bugreport https://bugzilla.proxmox.com/show_bug.cgi?id=701
blacklist nvidiafb
How did you install Proxmox and why are you trying to load nvifiafb?

Maybe that's why nvidiafb is blacklisted by Proxmox in /etc/modprobe.d/pve-blacklist.conf:
Code:
# This file contains a list of modules which are not supported by Proxmox VE

# nvidiafb see bugreport https://bugzilla.proxmox.com/show_bug.cgi?id=701
blacklist nvidiafb
How did you install Proxmox and why are you trying to load nvifiafb?
Sorry I didnt know …
I downloaded the latest version on the official website, flashed the usb then boot on it . Then it crashes during the load of installation… how can I avoid loading this ? This is done automatically I didn’t do anything…

Sorry I didnt know …
I downloaded the latest version on the official website, flashed the usb then boot on it . Then it crashes during the load of installation… how can I avoid loading this ? This is done automatically I didn’t do anything…