Help with Proof of Concept Proxmox Setup

NugentS

Feb 29, 2024
Hi,
I have been running VMWare as a cluster for many years in my home lab. Its got nominally three nodes, but I usually only run one with the others turned off. I have some spare hardware that I can run a proxmox POC on - to see if I can replace my VMWare cluster with a proxmox cluster. I am however running into a couple of issues.

The hardware at the moment (remember POC only) is a SFF HP Elitedesk with a single NIC, 16GB RAM and 500GB local NVMe storage. I am not expecting quick
Additional Storage is 3 NAS units, 2 TrueNAS (Scale) and 1 elderly Synology.
The TrueNAS boxes each have a NFS Share available
The Synology has 2 NFS shares, one for VM's and the other for backup.
These are all defined at the DC level in proxmox

Issue 1: NFS Thin Storage.
I have created a Ubuntu Server VM as a guest on my single Proxmox Node
The disk was created as 24GB on local-lvm - which I assume is thin storage on the NVMe drive.
Hardware says its 24GB, but my datastore useage says 5.85GB is used - so I am assuming this is stored in a thin format. I have added the QEMU Agent to the guest
On backup - this backs up to a 2.09GB File
I have selected Run guest-trim after a disk move or VM Migration

I have created an identical Ubuntu Server VM on the synology NFS share. Disk format is qcow2 - but it appears to be thick provisioned. The store says 24GB is used.

I have created an identical Ubuntu Server VM on a TrueNAS NFS share. Disk format is qcow2 however in this case the dataset only uses 3.05GB - so would appear to be thin provisioned.

Question: Is thin provisioning not possible on the synology? (not that it matters a great deal as the synology is backup space only)

Issue 2: iSCSI - or more specifically ZFS over iSCSI