eveng - neither intel vt-x or amd-v found

korpaczov

Oct 27, 2023
Hey everyone,
I'm getting a common error message for which there are numerous troubleshooting guides available. I tried researching various forums and watching multiple YouTube videos, I'm still struggling with the issue.
Here's the scenario: I've set up Proxmox on my old laptop and installed EVE-NG on a virtual machine. However, upon starting the VM, I'm prompted with an error stating "neither Intel VT-x nor AMD-V found."
To resolve this, I accessed the BIOS and adjusted settings, hoping to boot into Windows from another hard drive. I changes an order of hard drives a few times but it always boots to proxmox. It seems like Windows is gone, and I'm unable to eliminate this error.
I am still a newbie to Proxmox, I apologize if my question seems basic. I'm running out of ideas on how to troubleshoot this problem and would greatly appreciate any guidance.

To run VMs at near to normal speeds, you need a CPU with virtualization acceleration enabled, which most CPUs can. This is called Intel VT-x or AMD-V (depending on which platform you use). If you enable this in the motherboard BIOS, your VMs will run fine.
If you installed Proxmox on your only drive in the laptop, then the installer has wiped that drive and removed Windows. If you have multiple drives and you installed Proxmox on a different drive than Windows, you should be able to boot back into Windows. But I don't know your BIOS and if you selected the right drive (during installation of Proxmox or in the BIOS), sorry.
Can you boot an USB drive with GParted Live (or something like it) and inspect your drives to see which operating system is installed where?

To run VMs at near to normal speeds, you need a CPU with virtualization acceleration enabled, which most CPUs can. This is called Intel VT-x or AMD-V (depending on which platform you use). If you enable this in the motherboard BIOS, your VMs will run fine.