Dell R710 Perc6i what choice in virtual disks.

Nonofr91

Sep 12, 2023
Good morning,
I'm completely new to installing proxmox and would like to see some advice on the choices I need to make.
I have a Dell R710 with a perc6i and 8 HDDs (2x 146Gb 10k, 1x 146Gb 15k, 5x1Tb 7.2k).
Should I opt for 3 VDs (one typical HDD part)? but I don't secure my disks. or a VD raid 5 for the 3 146Gb HDDs and 1VD raid 5 for the other HDDs? or even all in VD raid 0 and zfs but seems not to be advised in the doc (do not use zfs with a hardware raid controller.

to give the context of future use of the server, it will run applications such as mail, Nas, and business applications for a small business that needs to start.

Thanks in advance for all the help.

If you want to use ZFS, do not create a virtual disk through the controller. Find out how to set up these drives in JBOD mode and then create a ZFS pool under Proxmox.

Thank you for your answer.
unfortunately the perc6i controller does not manage the no raid jbod.
I read in other forum threads that it was possible to do raid 0 for each disk in the bios and do zfs in proxmox. but I understood that the performance would be much slower.
This is why I ask myself these questions.
it might be better to do a raid 5 even if the 15k will be penalized but I could secure this volume.
Another possibility would be to make a cluster and secure with HA on the other node.
Could someone confirm the performance loss of hardware raid and zfs.

Last edited:
Setting up RAID 0 on each of the disks still relies on controller management. Personally, I wouldn't recommend such an approach. Instead, it's worth considering hardware solutions offered by the Perc controller or replacing it with one that supports JBOD/HBA.

If you have the option to build a cluster, it's definitely worth doing so. Even without high availability (HA), it will make maintenance tasks on the hosts much easier.

thanks again
So I'm ultimately thinking of making two Raid5 VDs.