[SOLVED] virtual machine connectivity issue on Proxmox

Spart

May 2, 2024
I'm having a problem with Proxmox, more specifically with my Debian virtual machines not having access to the Internet. I verified that Proxmox can ping to 8.8.8.8 as well as the gateway, and everything seems to be working fine there. However, when I launch a virtual machine, it cannot connect to the Internet.

Here is some additional information:

-I use Proxmox version 8.2.2

cat /etc/resolv.conf
search home
nameserver 192.168.1.1

root@pve:~# cat /etc/network/interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto enp0s3
iface enp0s3 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
address 192.168.1.61/24
gateway 192.168.1.1
bridge-ports enp0s3
bridge-stp off
bridge-fd 0

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

I would also like to point out that I am new to using Proxmox, so any additional explanations or instructions would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you for your understanding and help!

Thank you in advance for your assistance!

Attachments

• Debian_Hardware.png
    Debian_Hardware.png
    26.4 KB · Views: 19
  • Debian_Option.png
    Debian_Option.png
    30.8 KB · Views: 20
  • ip.png
    ip.png
    44.3 KB · Views: 14
Last edited:
If you want to be able to use IPv4 (and ping 8.8.8.8 is IPv4) you need to give your guest an IPv4 address. The third screenshot shows only a IPv6 one.

Something like "ip addr add 192.168.1.123/24 dev ens18 && ip route add default via 192.168.1.1" may be sufficient for a non-persistent test. (From my mind, not verified.)

I thank you in advance for your response, I made the modifications given but the problem persistsip a .png

Okay, next round...
  • you set 192.168.1.123 as the local address - fine!
  • you can ping .1.61 - fine! Physical connectivity is present!
  • you can NOT ping .1.1 - BAD!
So... Is 192.168.1.1 the "exit" out of this network? It should answer to "ping"! (Or it is something esoteric and blocks icmp echo requests. What kind of device is it?)