Cannot Passthrough H100 PCIE GPU to VMs

JasonFeng

Jul 26, 2023
I'm new to the Proxmox Forum,but i already use PVE for more than three years.I'm sure that I've read the basic docs like
  1. https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/PCI_Passthrough#Enable_the_IOMMU
  2. https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/PCI_Passthrough#Required_Modules
  3. https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/PCI_Passthrough#IOMMU_Interrupt_Remapping
  4. https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/PCI_Passthrough#Verify_IOMMU_Isolation
  5. I'm working on a beast of a server with:
    • 144 x Intel(R) Xeon(R) Platinum 8452Y (2 Sockets)
    • 256G ram
    • H100 PCIe GPU card
My goal is passthrough the H100 GPU to VMs and install drivers well
some outputs below
btw,when installing nvidia drivers on Windows VM,host machine may freeze and crash then reboot
1707211858823.png1707211873242.png
1707211959955.png1707211987001.png1707212008300.png

USB controller could be passthrough into VMs and it works well,It may means the IOMMU works

Hi, we are having similar issues with Linux, the NVIDIA driver is not loading but nvidia-smi can see the H100 inside the VM
We are getting the error:

[ 12.787166] NVRM: The NVIDIA GPU 0000:01:00.0 (PCI ID: 10de:2331)
NVRM: installed in this system is not supported by the
NVRM: NVIDIA 535.154.05 driver release.
NVRM: Please see 'Appendix A - Supported NVIDIA GPU Products'
NVRM: in this release's README, available on the operating system
NVRM: specific graphics driver download page at www.nvidia.com.

Despite this the same driver works baremetal! So its the correct driver.

@JasonFeng, which bios version do you have? we have 96.00.30.00.01 which seems to be at least 1 year old by now.
An other question, why do you load nvidia and nvidia-uvm modules inside the VM-Host when you install the Driver in Windows?