Advice on Shared Storage for Proxmox Cluster

D

deejross

I have been using Proxmox VE for a few months using local storage. While running a few VMs at the same time, I'm starting to notice some IO delays. So I started thinking of how to improve performance and allow things like live migration when I want to add a second Proxmox server. I was originally looking at the Synology 5 bay device, but now I'm thinking of going with a custom built machine (out of spare parts) running FreeNAS. Either way, I know that I have to use iSCSI, but supposedly you can't use an iSCSI target with more than one machine at a time.

So my first question is, how do I do shared storage between two machines using iSCSI? Do I follow the two steps listed here: http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Storage_Model#LVM_Groups_with_Network_Backing on both machines using the same iSCSI target?

Second, if I am using a 4 disk RAID-Z (3TB SATA x4) for a total of 9 TB usable (using one disk for parity) for my FreeNAS box, what kind of performance should I expect to see? I would hope it would be faster than local SATA storage, but are we talking about a significant performance improvement?

I don't have a lot of money to spend on this, as it's more of a hobby/experiment right now, but I will be using this setup to run a few web servers (OpenVZ) and maybe a couple of Windows desktop instances (KVM). Eventually, I would like to get a fencing device for HA, but right now I have to get storage taken care of.

Thanks for any advice and helpful tips you can give me!

You can use iScsi as shared storage. Proxmox ensures that only one machine at time connects to the same volume on the iScsi server.