Proxmox VE as Cloud platform ?

BlackHat

Mar 14, 2012
Muscat, Oman, Oman
Hi I am new to promox VE and this form ,

I am working in my dissertation about cloud computing and a friend of mine told me about Proxmox VE , so I have some questions about it :

1. Can we use promox VE as cloud system like openstack , OpenNebula, Eucalyptus ...etc ??
  2. If No , What is the difference between cloud platforms (like openstack), and Proxmox Ve ??
  3. Can we use for example GluserFS with promox Ve to aggregate the VM's storage , and use them as a single storage block ? If no what is the alternative ?
  4. is the automatic live migration and HA supported by Promox VE ?

Thanx in advance .

Our docs in the wiki will tell you all, and read/search the forum for answers before you asked already discussed issues.

hi!

if you know well those platforms (i do not), i guess in the wiki docs you can find your answers by yourself, and an installation of the stable 1.9x or better the new 2.0 _beta_ can give you even more details and insight on what really proxmox is, after all it's easy and free!

Anyway, i try to get further. I am not an expert but http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cloud_computing says:
<<Cloud computing is the delivery of computing as a service rather than a product, whereby shared resources, software, and information are provided to computers and other devices as a utility (like the electricity grid) over a network (typically the Internet).[1]
Cloud computing provides computation, software applications, data access,data management and storage resources without requiring cloud users to know the location and other details of the computing infrastructure.