changing partitions

H

houms

I am new to proxmox. Let me start off by saying that I think this is one of the most "under the radar" open source projects I have come across. I think this product is outstanding and look forward to helping it grow.

My question is about the partitioning of hard drives. I have two 160GB disks and during the install proxmox takes up one entire disk. My question(s) are;

Can you manually setup the partitions during install?

I read some posts and it seems like this is not available currently, but I am not certain. As the post I read was referencing v.90 and I am running v 1.0.

So can it be done under v 1.0?

If so, how?
If not, does anyone know if this is going to be included in future releases? and if so, how long do you think it will be?

My second question is can I partition the drives post install? Because the root partition is currently 36GB, which is way bigger than I would like it. Not sure if proxmox needs this much space but if not i would certainly perfer to move as much of that over to the data partition.

If so, does anyone know whats a safe size to use for the root partition?
If not, is this planned to be included in futrue releases? if so, how long do you think it will be?

Thank you in advance for your assistance. I look forward to being an active member of this community.

My question is about the partitioning of hard drives. I have two 160GB disks and during the install proxmox takes up one entire disk. My question(s) are;

Can you manually setup the partitions during install?
If so, how?

you can pass 2 parameters at the install cd boot prompt:

# linux maxroot=20 swapsize=4

create 20GB root and 4GB swap

My second question is can I partition the drives post install? Because the root partition is currently 36GB, which is way bigger than I would like it. Not sure if proxmox needs this much space but if not i would certainly perfer to move as much of that over to the data partition.