Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Hallo,

    I have created 2 VMs (one with an IPCop and one with an Debian Server) with each one scsi Disk. That went fine until today. When I try to start them, I get an error message in the console:

    Code:
    Booting from local disk...
    Boot failed... Press a key to retry
    When I create an new VM with an IDE Disc and install the IPCop again, it works fine.

    Unfortuantely, Proxmox installs an scsi Disk again, when I restore a snapshot.

    Yesterday, after I had shutdown the VMs, I updated Proxmox. I think that these Updates occur the error.

    So, how can I solve the Problem?
    The Debian Server contains so many configurations and data, that I should be able to use it further.

    Please help me to solve the Problem.

    Edit:
    Now the messages are different:
    Booting from Hard Disk...
    Could not read the boot disk
    The Problem is the same.
    Last edited by crazy-to-bike; 12-09-2011 at 09:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,770

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    the issue is discussed on the developer list, see http://pve.proxmox.com/cgi-bin/mailm...ate/pve-devel/ (you need to be a member to see the archive).

    as workaround, do a downgrade of the pve-qemu-kvm package (to 0.15).
    Best regards,
    Tom

    Do you have already a Commercial Support Subscription? - If not, Buy now

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    I never had to do a downgrade before.

    Can you tell me how to do this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    I tried to downgradw with the following command:

    dpkg -i pve-qemu-kvm_0.15.0-2_amd64.deb
    The output was
    (Reading Database [...]
    Preparing zo replace [...]
    Unpacking replacement pve-qemu-kvm ...
    Setting up pve-qemu-kvm (0.15.0-2) ...
    Processing triggers for man-db ...
    No errors.

    But now no VM starts anymore - no matter which kind of hd.

    Please help me to get a working Installation again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    now I tried
    Code:
    dpkg -i pve-qemu-kvm_0.15.0-1_amd64.deb
    and the VMs start again. But the Problem with scsi-HDs is the same.

    What can I do?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,770

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    read the dev list.
    Best regards,
    Tom

    Do you have already a Commercial Support Subscription? - If not, Buy now

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by tom View Post
    read the dev list.
    Fist: I'm not a member, so I can't read it.

    Further, I feel overextended with a developer mailinglist.
    I'm just a user who made the mistake to
    1. chose the beta
    2. make an update too early

    Will there be an update that solves the Problem soon?
    Last edited by crazy-to-bike; 12-09-2011 at 11:36 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    11,879

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by crazy-to-bike View Post
    Will there be an update that solves the Problem soon?
    No, that problem is not easy to solve.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    11,879

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Cant you switch from scsi to ide (edit /etc/pve/qemu-server/VMID.conf)?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by dietmar View Post
    No, that problem is not easy to solve.
    ok, but is there a possibility to downgrade the system, that scsi will work again?

    Downgrading of pve-qemu-kvm alone didn't take effekt.

    The attempt to downgrade some of the other packages which were updated when the problem occured, fails.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by dietmar View Post
    Cant you switch from scsi to ide (edit /etc/pve/qemu-server/VMID.conf)?
    I tried this with the IPCop-vm. But it ends in a kernel panic.

    If I am lucky, it's only because of wrong entries in te fstab (sda instead of hda)

    I'll try it again with chancged fstab.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    The try to migrate the IPCop from scsi to ide failed.

    in the fstab there are entries like
    /dev/harddisk1
    A change to
    /dev/hda1
    doesn't take any effect.

    I will now try this with the debian server.

    If you have any more ideas to reactivate my vms please tell me.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    At least the debian server boots from the virtual ide hd.

    That reduces the expenditure of reconfiguration very much.

    Can I assume that such a problem will not appear again using ide hds in the vms?

    Otherwise it would imply not to update the proxmox system any more. But that would come into beeing a security leak.
    Last edited by crazy-to-bike; 12-10-2011 at 12:18 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,770

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    I highly recommend to use the stable Proxmox VE for production systems. The beta is for testing only.
    Best regards,
    Tom

    Do you have already a Commercial Support Subscription? - If not, Buy now

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    France/Paris
    Posts
    184

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Why not usung virtio disks with Linux machines ? It is my default choice for (KVM) linux VMs, and should show as good (or almost identical) performances as SCSI, as it is included in kernel.

    Alain

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by tom View Post
    I highly recommend to use the stable Proxmox VE for production systems. The beta is for testing only.
    The installation is not a production system. It's a testing system which should switch to a production system during 2012. According to your roadmap version 2.0 will be stable until Q1/2012.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by alain View Post
    Why not usung virtio disks with Linux machines ? It is my default choice for (KVM) linux VMs, and should show as good (or almost identical) performances as SCSI, as it is included in kernel.

    Alain
    Well, I have no experiences with virtio. By experience with real hds I thought scsi would be the best choice.
    When creating a new vm, the default recommendation ist ide. So after my experience with scsi I'm thinking that this is the kind of hd the developers would prefer / suggest to use.

    Therefore my question in post #13, if using ide as virtual hd will ensure that such a problem will not appear again.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    France/Paris
    Posts
    184

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    It will work with IDE, but performances (IO) will be much lower than virtio. You should try. Virtio is stable for Linux VMs. It is just a matter to remove the disk, then re-add it as virtio...

    Alain

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by alain View Post
    It will work with IDE, but performances (IO) will be much lower than virtio. You should try. Virtio is stable for Linux VMs. It is just a matter to remove the disk, then re-add it as virtio...

    Alain
    can the developers confirm this?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,482

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    The problem is we cannot "boot" anymore on scsi without using non-gpl lsi rom, since qemu 1.0.

    As workaround,you can you boot from an ide disk (or floppy , then mount root on a scsi disk.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by spirit View Post
    As workaround,you can you boot from an ide disk (or floppy , then mount root on a scsi disk.
    That's too inconvenient. But: Is using a virtual ide hd really slower than scsi?

    Using a real hd ok, the scsi drive / bus has a higher data rate, but in a vm?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,482

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    don't have really test scsi vs ide but they are many optimisations for scsi in qemu 1.0.


    alternative method :

    edit your vm config file, and add :

    args: -option-rom 8xx_64.rom,bootindex=1


    then download
    http://www.lsi.com/downloads/Public/...s/lsi_bios.zip

    and extract 8xx_64.rom to /usr/share/kvm/


    start your vm, it must boot

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    41

    Thumbs up Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Quote Originally Posted by spirit View Post
    don't have really test scsi vs ide but they are many optimisations for scsi in qemu 1.0.


    alternative method :
    edit your vm config file, and add :
    args: -option-rom 8xx_64.rom,bootindex=1

    then download
    http://www.lsi.com/downloads/Public/...s/lsi_bios.zip
    and extract 8xx_64.rom to /usr/share/kvm/

    start your vm, it must boot
    Thanks for the great tip spirit, works a charm!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    Hello. I have the same problem with Proxmox 2.1 and I want to try this solution.
    Any ideas where I can find the config file to put "args: -option-rom 8xx_64.rom,bootindex=1" in?

    Thank you!

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,482

    Default Re: VMs with scsi don't start anymore

    /etc/pve/qemu-server /

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •