Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Adding an existing virtual disk image

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    24

    Default Adding an existing virtual disk image

    Hi, I haven't found a way to add an existing virtual disk image to a VM via web ui
    Is this feature (working in 1.x) planned?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,873

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    you need to move/copy the file to the right storage via CLI or SCP tools (like winscp if you are on windows).

    as soon as the files are there, you can add them via GUI to VM (1.9 and also on 2.0).
    Best regards,
    Tom

    Do you have already a Commercial Support Subscription? - If not, Buy now

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    Quote Originally Posted by tom View Post
    you need to move/copy the file to the right storage via CLI or SCP tools (like winscp if you are on windows).
    as soon as the files are there, you can add them via GUI to VM (1.9 and also on 2.0).
    The web UI does not "see" the image in the local storage (example in '/var/lib/vz/images/100' ).
    With Add->Hard Disk procedure, the UI does not allow to choose the already existing image file

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    hi,
    just create a new image with proper properties(qcow,raw,virtio...)
    copy your image to the /mnt/pve/SOMETHING/images/100/ folder (if 100 is your vmid)
    and than rename your image
    "mv oldimage.img vm-100-disk-1.qcow2"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    Quote Originally Posted by ods View Post
    hi,
    just create a new image with proper properties(qcow,raw,virtio...)
    copy your image to the /mnt/pve/SOMETHING/images/100/ folder (if 100 is your vmid)
    and than rename your image
    "mv oldimage.img vm-100-disk-1.qcow2"
    Please read my previous answer. The web UI does not see the existing image file

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    yes and thats why i told you to create a new one

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    Quote Originally Posted by ods View Post
    yes and thats why i told you to create a new one
    Already done before without you suggestion.
    But this is a dirty hack and not the way the interface should work

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,873

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    works here. maybe wrong permissions?
    Best regards,
    Tom

    Do you have already a Commercial Support Subscription? - If not, Buy now

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    Quote Originally Posted by tom View Post
    works here. maybe wrong permissions?
    Just changed permission of the raw image fille to 666, same negative result.
    Maybe I have completely misunderstood the interface.
    Here is a screen shot for Add->Hard Disk window

    hd.jpg

    It seems not possible to pick an image file from a list.

    Here is a screenshot from a 1.9 server:

    hdOld.jpg
    In the 2.0 beta2 the section 'Use an existing virtual disk' is completely missing

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,873

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    see this screenshot - should look like this. but there seems to be an issue, will dig deeper.

    unused-disks.png
    Best regards,
    Tom

    Do you have already a Commercial Support Subscription? - If not, Buy now

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    I have the very same problem and I was also going to ask about the same thing.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,873

    Default Re: Adding an existing virtual disk image

    Best regards,
    Tom

    Do you have already a Commercial Support Subscription? - If not, Buy now

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •