Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Hello every one. I am having a hard time trying to figure out who to accomplish the following.

    I have there ESX Hosts. Each host has two NIC (eth0=10.10.30.0/24 | eth1=172.16.10.0/24); and then there is a network create inside the ESX(using vsphere client) for File-Server(4 VMs across the 3 ESX Host) that is 192.168.1.0/24 [As weird as it sound a file server in ESX1 can ping a file server in ESX2 using the 192.168.1.0/24].
    Now I bring a Proxmox Server into the play. I have a proxmox server with two NIC Cards (eth0=10.10.30.0/24 | eth1=172.16.10.0/24); same setup as the ESX Hosts using the same switches and everything, but for some reason I cannot get to ping the network 192.168.1.0/24.

    Linux iossolution 2.6.35-1-pve

    Please advise what can I do to get Proxmox VMs to work with the File-Servers. Here it is my Proxmox network.

    # network interface settings
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    iface eth0 inet manual

    iface eth1 inet manual

    iface eth2 inet manual

    iface eth3 inet manual

    auto bond0
    iface bond0 inet manual
    slaves eth0 eth1
    bond_miimon 100
    bond_mode active-backup

    auto bond1
    iface bond1 inet manual
    slaves eth2 eth3
    bond_miimon 100
    bond_mode active-backup

    auto vmbr0
    iface vmbr0 inet static
    address 10.10.30.37
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 10.10.30.1
    bridge_ports bond0
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

    auto vmbr1
    iface vmbr1 inet static
    address 192.168.10.89
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    bridge_ports bond1
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

    auto vmbr2
    iface vmbr2 inet static
    address 192.168.1.60
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    bridge_ports none
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

    Please if you do not understand anything I said, please let me know.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    11,926

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Please try to use tcpdump to find out where you loose packages.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Check that its locking eth* on right interface, as if you dont have them in /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules , else they might be random what nic ties to what eth.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Could you please be more specific. Sorry but I do not get any of you guys.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Check that eth1 have same MAC nr on a reboot.
    you should have rules for both NIC in /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules.

    Else system dont know what NIC is eth1 or eth0 so they can swap places.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Quote Originally Posted by coffe View Post
    Check that eth1 have same MAC nr on a reboot.
    you should have rules for both NIC in /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules.

    Else system dont know what NIC is eth1 or eth0 so they can swap places.
    I have to admit I do not know what do you mean, take a look at what is there

    # This file was automatically generated by the /lib/udev/write_net_rules
    # program run by the persistent-net-generator.rules rules file.
    #
    # You can modify it, as long as you keep each rule on a single line.

    # PCI device 0x8086:0x105e (e1000e)
    SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:15:17:95:4a:f1", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth3"

    # PCI device 0x14e4:0x164c (bnx2)
    SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:22:19:18:4a:77", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"

    # PCI device 0x8086:0x105e (e1000e)
    SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:15:17:95:4a:f0", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth2"

    # PCI device 0x14e4:0x164c (bnx2)
    SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:22:19:18:4a:79", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth1"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    that looks right. so thats not the problem then.

    But you like to have a "private" network for them ? newer tryed that my self.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Is there any way I can tell eth0 (network 10.10.30.0/24) that network 192.168.1.0/24 goes through eth0. I think the only way to do this is by assigning the network 192.168.1.0/24 to eth0(which I do not how it is done).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Yes, I trying that because the ESX Host has this setup and I need proxmox to integrate to this and I believe if VMWare can do it, there has to be a way to accomplishing this in proxmox.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    auto vmbr2
    iface vmbr2 inet static
    address 192.168.1.60
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    bridge_ports none
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

    What interface are they using ? or am i missing something ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Quote Originally Posted by coffe View Post
    auto vmbr2
    iface vmbr2 inet static
    address 192.168.1.60
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    bridge_ports none
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

    What interface are they using ? or am i missing something ?
    Well Coffe vmbr2 is not using any interface at this time because every time I try to assign one to it, an error comes back saying that the interface is being used by another bridge. I trying to get a way that I can setup the two networks inside the vmbr0. Or the other will be how to share bond0 between vmbr0 and vmbr2. If you know how to accomplish any of this I will appreciate it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    So on physical bond0 you are running 2 networks ? 10.10.30.* and 192.168.1* ?
    then just on client add 2 interfaces both using vmbr0 and use 1 for 10. and other for 192. if they are same physical network.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Not coffe bond0 is not set for the use of 192.168.1.*. Do I need to do this in order for vmbr2 to see the network in ESX Hosts???

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ahrensburg; Germany
    Posts
    3,614

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    Quote Originally Posted by kirelgt View Post
    Not coffe bond0 is not set for the use of 192.168.1.*. Do I need to do this in order for vmbr2 to see the network in ESX Hosts???
    Hi,
    you use eth0+1 for bond0 (bridged to vmbr0) and eth2+3 for bond1 (bridged to vmbr1). if you need a third bridge for outgoing traffic you need an nic for that bridge.

    Perhaps you don't use both bonds, or use vlan-tagging.

    Udo

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    So what interface is then that bridge talking on ? , as i understand it , its not tied to any interface.but if you clients share that wmbr2 interface , they should be able to connect, i think.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: Hard to figure out 'Invicible network'

    I know this you are telling me, but VMWare has choice that you can create a different network inside the same switch and I know for sure Proxmox has to have this same choice.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •