Confusion regarding shared storage

unni

Apr 3, 2014
Hi ,

I am new to proxmox. So pardon me if my question is meaningless.

I have installed proxmox on two of my servers and created a cluster using both of them . I read from the documentation that, I need to setup shared storage to enable live migration. The servers that I have installed proxmox have plenty of disk space. If I am planning to use NFS as shared storage, Do I need to create NFS shares in both the servers or do I need to choose a different server to create shared NFS share?

Is NFS good to implement in a production environment?

I have checked SolusVM before. In that, there is option to select IP address from pool while provisioning a new VM. In Proxmox, I cant find that option. IP address is not configured by default in the VMs in proxmox. Please shed some light on this.

Regards,
Unni

The point of shared storage is having vm data outside of the proxmox host. For educational purposes nfs on one of your two machines will probaboy work.

The reason shared storage is essential for migration is that if you don't have it, migration could take minutes (or hours), since it will have to move N GB of storage, instead of a much smaller amount of ram and other state.

The reason shared storage is essential for migration is that if you don't have it, migration could take minutes (or hours), since it will have to move N GB of storage, instead of a much smaller amount of ram and other state.

Hi,

So, I need to power up a third server for storage. correct?

That would be the recommended way, yes. It's sometimes possible to have a hypervisor use storage on a virtualized appliance on that same hypervisor. Whether it works (robustly) depends on the hypervisor. ESXi works fine for that. Xenserver not so much. Can't speak to proxmox.

Yes you should use a shared storage on a separate server.