[SOLVED] Dedicating a NIC to a VM (or any alternative way of achieving an equivalent result)

currysoup

Aug 29, 2014
Hi Everyone,

I am in the process of evaluating Proxmox VE for a planned migration to a virtual environment. Though I am not new to Linux or Virtualisation I am completely new to Proxmox. As such I fully appreciate that there may be better ways of achieving my goal than I am currently attempting.

I have a single Proxmox VE server with multiple NIC's (7). I would like to have two VM's each with a single network connection to our lan 10.0.0.x. preferably a dedicated nic for each. At present I have a default configuration where eth0 is mapped to vmbr0 with a static address 10.0.0.10/24. I can assign the bridge to multiple machines.

Is it possible to assign a NIC directly to a VM? I have tried setting up an additional bridge eth1>vmbr1 (10.0.0.11/24) but when assigning an address and gateway I recieve the message that the gateway is already in use on vmbr0. This implies that I am not configuring this correctly (which I am sure is the case).

Would an alternative be to bond eth0,1,2,3 etc... with load balancing and then map vmbr0 to bond0? This (if I understand it correctly) should give me what I want but instead of assigining a nic to a machine, bonds multple nic's and maps them to a bridge assignable to multiple machines.

I do appreciate that this may have been covered elsewhere and I apologise if this is the case. I have tried searching for various iterations of "proxmox assign nic to VM" but I appreciate that this search may not yield the results I'm looking for if I am going about this the wrong way.

Any assistance would be very much appreciated.

Last edited:
Re: Dedicating a NIC to a VM (or any alternative way of achieving an equivalent resul

You can create a bridge on the ProxMox VE host, like, vmbr1, assign eth1 as a bridged port, but, do not assign an IP-address to it.