Storage Options

VC-Mike

Aug 1, 2014
Hello,

I'm new to Proxmox and these forums so I apologize if I'm posting in the wrong place.

We're moving over from OnApp but in the process, we're wiping out our SAN (currently powered by OpenFiler) and are looking for a new solution. Does anyone else use a open-source storage solution, such as FreeNAS or something similar? Do you use NFS, iSCSI or others? If NFS, what filesystem do you use?

We're just looking for the most recommended options so we can pin them up and make a decision on the best solution for us.

Thanks so much in advance! :D

If you what something enterprise grade you should take a look at a Solaris based storage server using ZFS. I would personally recommend Omnios and if you need/want a gui you should consider napp-it -> http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Storage:_ZFS. At the moment ZFS in Proxmox must be created manually from the command line but full gui is soon to come. I use NFS over ZFS for containers and iSCSI over ZFS for KVM. FreeNAS is also a widely used option but ZFS iSCSI performance is not as good as Solaris based alternatives and certainly not enterprise ready. Alternatively you could consider a cluster solution of which Ceph has support in Proxmox -> http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Ceph_Server.

Lots of great information there, thank you very much!

Going to load OmniOS and napp-it onto a KVM based VM today to test it out, never heard of or used it before and we have a week to decide on the SAN platform so it'll give me plenty of time to figure it out I imagine.

Does anyone else have any suggestions?

I also saw that NexentaStor is recommended under the Solaris based stores. Is there any benefits between choosing either OmniOS or NexentaStor?

I tried a quick install of OmniOS and Napp-It earlier today but the Napp-It interface is quite large and would take a while to get used to. Is there anything free/open-source that is updated regularly?