proxmon

Jul 31, 2014
Hello,

Board/CPU: Supermicro x10SBA
Mem: 8GB DDR3
SSD: Samsung 256GB
Installation target: Leaf 16GB USB
Proxmox installer: Patriot 16GB USB

I am new to proxmox and I was not able to install it. I followed this guide.

- made bootable Patriot USB with proxmox iso
- install wizard launches, I select /dev/sdb Leaf drive
- does not exit gracefully, the boot loader could not be installed
- it appears that proxmox is trying to install the boot loader to /dev/sda Patriot which is causing the fail

To remedy this I set the BIOS boot order to list the Leaf USB drive first. However, with this method I cannot boot to the Patriot USB to install proxmox.

I then tried this (removed Leaf drive from the system):

- made bootable Patriot USB with proxmox iso
- install wizard launches, I select /dev/sda Samsung SSD
- install exits gracefully, I am prompted to reboot
- grub loads with options to start proxmox, proxmox recovery, memtest, etc
- selecting proxmox or proxmox recovery causes the system to reboot indefinitely

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Hello proxmon,

To remedy this I set the BIOS boot order to list the Leaf USB drive first. However, with this method I cannot boot to the Patriot USB to install proxmox.

Note that the first device in boot order is not necessarily /dev/sda!

In your case I think SSD is /dev/sda - wondering why your 1st attempt did not work - because, yes, grub-bootloader is always installed at /dev/sda - did you remove the SSD?

So it should work if you boot temporarily from your installation stick (leave boot order in order to boot always from SSD, only the bootloader is there, the OS is on the stick, install at the other stick and reboot then. I did it once and it worked - but I had to change in /boot/grub/grub.cfg the following line (added the red part):

linux /vmlinuz-2.6.32-27-pve root=/dev/mapper/pve-root ro quiet rootdelay=2