Backup of linked clones

AndrevdG

May 25, 2014
I am still a complete noob when it comes to using ProxMox. Only been trying it out for a week or so now and although I can figure out a lot of things by searching on the forums / wiki / google, there is one thing (so far) that I have not been able to grasp. Which is backup of linked clones...

1. I make a basic vm, shut it down, turn it into a template.
2. I make a backup of this template. This backup is static, cause the template itself should not change
3. I make a linked clone. The hard drive of this linked clone should only contain the differences made from the template
4. I make a backup of the linked clone. This contains (in my tests so far) the complete image. Template + changes since the vm first ran..

I would like to (and it would make sense to me) be able to backup the linked clone only for what it has changed from the template. Let's say I have 10 vms running of the same template, then there is no need to backup the template data over and over. All I need is the template (1x) and the changes of the vms (10x).

<edit>
To clarify, I made a linked clone, checked the disk volume (500MB or so), made a backup and restored the backup to a new VM. This new VM had a 40GB harddrive so it seems it contains all data of the template + changes. Also the backup was 5+GB (I would expect 500 or so MB)
</edit>

Is there a way to do this, or do I miss something obvious?

Last edited:
Is there a way to backup/restore linked-clones 'as it is' without a full image?

Ok, thanks for your feedback, Dietmar!

Is it possible to just scp an 'online' 'linked-clone' image + config file to another location as backup?

scp /var/lib/vz/images/100/base-100-disk-1.qcow2 192.168.1.1:/var/lib/vz/images/100/
scp /etc/pve/qemu-server/100.conf 192.168.1.1:/etc/pve/qemu-server/

I would not do that - this can result in inconsistent qcow2 file on the target.