Configuring my first Proxmox

nikko

Nov 18, 2013
Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to this field and want to install a new Proxmox. I must say it is great. I have already installed Proxmox and two virtual Machines. The Hypervizor is inside a company networt. It will have a few machines on it(tree virtual servers and a virtuell client pc, all of them running with Windows). The Servers schould communicate to each other, but stay unseen to my company Network. For this purpose I created vmbr1 from the Web Interface and gave it an internal IP like 172.10.10.1 this. Then I would like to give my Virtual Machines an internal IP like 172.10.10.99 and Default Gateway 172.10.10.1, same as vmbr1. I am not exactly sure how to make this. This is what /etc/network/Interfaces looks like this:

Code:
# network interface settings
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet manual

iface eth1 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
    address  XX.XX.XX.xx  #external IP 
    netmask  255.255.0.0
    gateway  XX.XX.XX.XX
    bridge_ports eth0
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

auto vmbr1
iface vmbr1 inet static
    address  172.25.25.1
    netmask  255.255.0.0
    bridge_ports none
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

How could I connect my VMs to vmbr1 instead of vmr0? How could I connect vmbr1 to vmbr0 in order to communicate in the internal Network. I will try to make same basci Diagram in order be clear what I mean. Thanks in advance!

Hi,
in your case you need an router for your client-network which do also NAT to your company-network. You can do this with an VM (, which is connected to booth networks (vmbr0 + vmbr1) but you need one company-IP for this.
Or you do this on the proxmox-host with iptable-rules (I preferr the router-VM).

For the VMs - simply use vmbr1 for the nic. You can test your config with tcpdump on the host (like "tcpdump -i vmbr1 host IP.OF.ONE.VM").

Udo