Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: (howto) update of Appliance Templates

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default (howto) update of Appliance Templates

    I've been playing now for a few days with VE and i'm _very_ impressed with the features/concept. I have previous experience with kvm (libvirt/virt-manager) and linux-vserver. I've been trying to setup a few vm's using kvm/vz and it looks "wunderbar" ;-)
    There is hower a little problem downloading appliance templates.

    When i click on the download tab and eg select fedora and hit the download button i get:
    starting download: fedora-9-standard_9-1_i386.tar.gz
    --08:36:00-- http://download.proxmox.com/applianc...-1_i386.tar.gz
    => `/tmp/apldownload-8838-tmp.dat'
    Resolving download.proxmox.com... 92.51.129.73
    Connecting to download.proxmox.com|92.51.129.73|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
    08:36:01 ERROR 404: Not Found.
    download failed: download failed - No such file or directory
    When i check manually:
    $ lftp http://download.proxmox.com/appliances/system/
    cd ok, cwd=/appliances/system
    ls
    drwxr-xr-x -- ..
    -rw-r--r-- 115M 2009-01-17 21:35 centos-4-standard_4.7-1_i386.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 125M 2009-01-17 21:45 centos-5-standard_5.2-1_i386.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 108M 2009-01-20 11:49 debian-4.0-standard_4.0-4_amd64.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 105M 2009-01-20 11:53 debian-4.0-standard_4.0-4_i386.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 135M 2009-01-20 12:31 debian-5.0-standard_5.0-1_amd64.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 131M 2009-01-20 12:37 debian-5.0-standard_5.0-1_i386.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 282M 2009-01-20 12:57 debian-5.0-xserver_5.0-1_i386.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 115M 2009-01-09 04:59 fedora-9-standard_9-2_i386.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 112M 2009-01-20 13:02 ubuntu-8.0-standard_8.04-1_amd64.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 111M 2009-01-20 13:07 ubuntu-8.0-standard_8.04-1_i386.tar.gz

    Fedora is version 9-2 while the directory is looking for 9-1.

    It seems the list of available templates in my server is "outdated".
    Is there a way to update the available list of templates (eg force manually) ?
    If i use wget and download it manually in /var/lib/vz/template/cache or first to my desktop and then using the upload web function it doesn't recognize a "description"

    It's not a big thing, just wondering.

    Fromport

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    173

    Default

    Try to use '# pveam update'

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nemesiz View Post
    Try to use '# pveam update'
    *thanks*

    That worked!

    Fromport

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nemesiz View Post
    Try to use '# pveam update'
    How can i get more info on the usage of "pveam" ?
    Code:
    proxmoxtest:~# pveversion -v
    pve-manager: 1.1-4 (pve-manager/1.1/3746)
    qemu-server: 1.0-10
    pve-kernel: 2.6.24-5
    pve-kvm: 83-1
    pve-firmware: 1
    vncterm: 0.9-1
    vzctl: 3.0.23-1pve1
    vzdump: 1.1-1
    vzprocps: 2.0.11-1dso2
    vzquota: 3.0.11-1dso1
    
    proxmoxtest:~#  man pveam
    No manual entry for pveam
    See 'man 7 undocumented' for help when manual pages are not available.
    
    proxmoxtest:~# pveam --help
    unknown CMD '--help'

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,844

    Default

    pveam update downloads the list of appliances from proxmox.com via http. this is done automatically one time every day.

    executing on the console force this manually.
    Best regards,
    Tom

    Do you have already a Commercial Support Subscription? - If not, Buy now

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tom View Post
    pveam update downloads the list of appliances from proxmox.com via http. this is done automatically one time every day.

    executing on the console force this manually.

    may i suggest:

    # diff -u pveam.orig pveam
    --- pveam.orig 2009-03-04 09:31:33.859399919 -0800
    +++ pveam 2009-03-04 09:34:19.137837584 -0800
    @@ -4,7 +4,9 @@
    use PVE::APLInfo;

    if (scalar (@ARGV) != 1) {
    - print STDERR "usage: $0 CMD\n";
    + print STDERR "usage: $0 update\n";
    + print STDERR "downloads the list of available appliances from proxmox.com via http.\n";
    + print STDERR "This command is run once a day automatically\n";
    exit (-1);
    }

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    11,917

    Default

    pveam is likely to be replaced (or extended) in one of the next releases, with a full featured tool (somethink like apt - only for appliances).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    navigating I can see ubuntu-8.0-standard_8.04-1_amd64.tar.gz but this does not appears after executing pveam. I have downloaded manually and then uploaded from local. I tryed to create a new VM with this template but it fails. The /var/lib/vz/root/102 (VMID) is empty.

    theorically using openvz should I be able to make it work?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,844

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rmacian View Post
    navigating I can see ubuntu-8.0-standard_8.04-1_amd64.tar.gz but this does not appears after executing pveam. I have downloaded manually and then uploaded from local. I tryed to create a new VM with this template but it fails. The /var/lib/vz/root/102 (VMID) is empty.

    theorically using openvz should I be able to make it work?
    yes, just upload via web interface. should work without any issues, just tested.
    Best regards,
    Tom

    Do you have already a Commercial Support Subscription? - If not, Buy now

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I just deleted it and recreate a couple of times and it didn't work. After creating another VM with the 32 bit version and trying to create again one with the 64 bit did the trick. Now it's working thanks.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •