PDA

View Full Version : Adding an existing virtual disk image



caracolla
11-28-2011, 10:50 AM
Hi, I haven't found a way to add an existing virtual disk image to a VM via web ui
Is this feature (working in 1.x) planned?

tom
11-28-2011, 11:39 AM
you need to move/copy the file to the right storage via CLI or SCP tools (like winscp if you are on windows).

as soon as the files are there, you can add them via GUI to VM (1.9 and also on 2.0).

caracolla
11-28-2011, 12:05 PM
you need to move/copy the file to the right storage via CLI or SCP tools (like winscp if you are on windows).
as soon as the files are there, you can add them via GUI to VM (1.9 and also on 2.0).
The web UI does not "see" the image in the local storage (example in '/var/lib/vz/images/100' ).
With Add->Hard Disk procedure, the UI does not allow to choose the already existing image file

ods
11-28-2011, 12:14 PM
hi,
just create a new image with proper properties(qcow,raw,virtio...)
copy your image to the /mnt/pve/SOMETHING/images/100/ folder (if 100 is your vmid)
and than rename your image
"mv oldimage.img vm-100-disk-1.qcow2"

caracolla
11-28-2011, 12:21 PM
hi,
just create a new image with proper properties(qcow,raw,virtio...)
copy your image to the /mnt/pve/SOMETHING/images/100/ folder (if 100 is your vmid)
and than rename your image
"mv oldimage.img vm-100-disk-1.qcow2"

Please read my previous answer. The web UI does not see the existing image file

ods
11-28-2011, 12:24 PM
yes and thats why i told you to create a new one

caracolla
11-28-2011, 12:30 PM
yes and thats why i told you to create a new one
Already done before without you suggestion.
But this is a dirty hack and not the way the interface should work

tom
11-28-2011, 07:57 PM
works here. maybe wrong permissions?

caracolla
11-28-2011, 10:43 PM
works here. maybe wrong permissions?
Just changed permission of the raw image fille to 666, same negative result.
Maybe I have completely misunderstood the interface.
Here is a screen shot for Add->Hard Disk window

671

It seems not possible to pick an image file from a list.

Here is a screenshot from a 1.9 server:

672
In the 2.0 beta2 the section 'Use an existing virtual disk' is completely missing

tom
11-28-2011, 11:03 PM
see this screenshot - should look like this. but there seems to be an issue, will dig deeper.

673

xlnt
11-28-2011, 11:23 PM
I have the very same problem and I was also going to ask about the same thing.

tom
11-29-2011, 09:37 AM
See https://bugzilla.proxmox.com/show_bug.cgi?id=57