P2V questions

LonelyWolf

Dec 2, 2010
SAS Raid controller question

First of all Thanks and excuse me for my english not so good.

I'm new to proxmox VE and i haven't installed yet (i'm waitin' the new server, hope it will arrive in 10 days) but i need additional information about the sas raid controller.
the server is equipped with this:
SAS RAID PCI Card 6Gb/s. 4 Internal ports, PCI-E 2.0 x8, RAID 0/1/10/5 (LSI 9240-4i with mSAS-mSAS cable)

I found that the kernel 2.6.32 supports this controller so proxmoxVE 1.7, am i right?
If i'm wrong, can i use the driver from lsi for debian 5.0.5 (or 5.0.4) ?

The server is this: Gateway GT150 F1 equipped with:

• 2 x intel xeon E5506
  • 12GB ram ECC
  • lsi 9042-4i sas raid
  • 4x 146GB SAS 15K rpm

That's all, i'm reading anything can find about p2v and proxmox so i hope to be on the right way.

Thanks again

Edit:
changed title, i've started the post for questions that i didn't post.

Last edited:
Re: SAS Raid controller question

if the controller works on Debian Squeeze it will work on our kernel, too. we have no such controller here but I assume there will be no problems with LSI.

P2V: what OS boxes do you need to migrate?

Thanks for ur answer.

I'll need to migrate a debian etch server but for this i can use a template, only web/mail/file services needed.

The real p2v migration is a centos 5.2 32bit that runs an application really hard to reinstall (due to a lot of old dependencies and more), so i want to "clone" the real server to a kvm.

I think i'll try the "clonezilla way" as described in the wiki, hdd in the server are in raid controlled by hardware so the system use it as a simple /dev/sda:
/dev/sda1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 14 17782 142729492+ 8e Linux LVM

Also i've found a lot of ways on internet about p2v but i can take it quite.
Thanks

Thanks for ur answer.

I'll need to migrate a debian etch server but for this i can use a template, only web/mail/file services needed.