How to use more local storage?

rengiared

Sep 8, 2010
Austria
hi

i'm using PVE now since about 2 months on 8 blades with about 18 VMs and i'm really glad i got it recommended

Now i wish to use PVE on a DELL R710 where i have two raids, one raid1 and one raid5
Initially i tried to install it on an integrated SD-Modul with a 16GB SD-Card but GRUB has a small problem with it, but thats not my problem at the moment.

Now i installed it on the RAID1 but i don't know how to embed the RAID5 right.
I followed this guide http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Storage_Model#LVM_Groups_with_Local_Backing but than i have the problem i can't use qcows and if possible i would like to use them.
Unfortunately i'm a total linux noob and just don't get it atm.

maybe someone could help me out
thanks in advance

i can't use qcows and if possible i would like to use them.

I'm not sure about the idiosyncrasies of the qcow format or why you wouldn't be able to use that on your local storage.
LVM storage is the higher throughput method as opposed to a directory storage.
I think you can simply dd to & from LVM, but I haven't had to yet so I'm not sure.

Here are a couple links from a quick forum search that might start you in the right direction:
http://forum.proxmox.com/threads/4528-where-are-the-vm-files?highlight=where+vm+files
where are the vm files?

qcow2 auto resize?

All I know about qcow is that you can choose to create that kind of disk from the web interface when you're adding storage to a VM. I've never used it since from what I read here the raw format on LVM outperforms other modes.

Maybe I'm not clear on what your immediate task is, are you trying to migrate existing qcow to use with a VM?
The web interface can make disks in qcow if thats what you mean.

In the hardware tab of the VM under the 'add disk' submenu there's a drop-down entry to choose the image format of raw, vmdk or qcow.

I've used a Clonezilla LiveCD inside the VMs before I knew how to move disks around.