PDA

View Full Version : Proxmox with 2 NICs on 2 different subnets - workable?



hefferbub
10-01-2010, 10:13 PM
I have a 1.6 server with 2 NICs. One is attached to a 192.168.240.0/22 subnet and one is attached to a 192.168.48.0/22 subnet. I want to be able to have my VMs appear on one or the other of these subnets. I have configured the first interface through the Proxmox ISO installer and the second with the web interface. The second shows up as interface: "

eth1yes
192.168.48.10255.255.252.0

Is that feasible with Proxmox? Can anyone explain the general approach to how this should be configured and work? I am not super-familiar with all the nuances of Linux ifconfig, but I can research the details if someone can explain the general way it should work.

If there is documentation for this, I apologize, but I could not find it.

Thanks,

Jeff

Ninjix
10-01-2010, 10:25 PM
You can do this. The key thing to understand is that you don't have to give the host an IP on all of the physical NIC if you don't want to.


# network interface settings
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet manual

iface eth1 inet manual

iface eth2 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
address 192.168.48.10
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.48.1
bridge_ports eth0
bridge_stp off
bridge_fd 0

auto vmbr1
iface vmbr1 inet manual
bridge_ports eth1
bridge_stp off
bridge_fd 0


In this example your Proxmox host will respond on IP 192.168.48.10. Any guests needing to talk on the 192.168.48.x LAN segment can use vmbr0. Guests needing the second LAN can have their virtual NIC bonded with vmbr1 and assigned an IP on the 192.168.240.x subnet.

hefferbub
10-01-2010, 11:09 PM
Actually, I figured it out. Sorry to trouble you...
Jeff