Proxmox running under a Ubuntu installation

S

SirLouen

Since Proxmox works under a debian lenny I was wondering if its possible to make proxmox work under an ubuntu lucid lynx server edition

I installed the proxmox system with the CD directly so I don't know exactly if there exists repositories and an aptitude installation, like Xen.

I choose ubuntu for multiple reasons, but most important by far, that obtains the whole information from the hardware and autoconfigures itself the best way saving me, billions of amount of time (im not good at configuring hardware devices over linux systems, and messing around the kernel).

I choose ubuntu for multiple reasons, but most important by far, that obtains the whole information from the hardware and autoconfigures itself the best way saving me, billions of amount of time (im not good at configuring hardware devices over linux systems, and messing around the kernel).

What are You taking about? Did Canonical started to print some nice marketing charts and You happened to read one? Ubuntu is basically a mix of debian packages from testing and unstable, it doesn't do anything more than any other linux distribution, and does not "autoconfigures itself" more that any other linux distribution. I guess that You are really complaining about is the fact that due to licensing issues debian does not include some drivers that ubuntu (and other distributions) does, proxmox is based on debian but it provides some drives which are missing from standard debian installation cd.

Sure. But this is all about my experience. I did installed fresh new Debian Lenny and fresh new Ubuntu Lucid Lynx on the same machine with a brand new computer, and differences where awesome.

I'm sure that I could get in some minutes/hours/weeks/years the same config with Debian that Ubuntu gave me straight away after install. But, time is money.