Proxmox install with Adaptec 72405 raid card, need drivers

base64

Feb 10, 2013
Hi I am trying to install proxmox on a raid 6 array, on an Adaptec 72405 card, but the installer is not seeing the array and says "No hard disks found".
It looks like it needs the drivers for the raid card, but I do not know how to provide the drivers to the installer?

Here is the driver downloads page: http://www.adaptec.com/en-us/support/raid/sas_raid/sas-72405/

Many thanks in advance,
Andy

(in a few weeks) ? :p

How many :p

I'm very excited to see what's done in the new stable 2.3 :)

Regards

That is great news that the driver will be included in 2.3.
However I am a newbie with compiling, so do you know of any good tutorials or are you able to tell me how to get the latest 2.3 as ISO?

Many thanks,
Andy

Hello Tom,

My name is Luis and I'm with Adaptec Technical Support.
Do you know what version of the driver is included in the latest kernel from Proxmox?
Although we do not officially support Proxmox, we do provide source code that can be used to compile a driver for an unsupported Linux version.

In this case for the 72405 controller we suggest version 1.2.1-29900
Here is a link to the RPM file: http://www.adaptec.com/en-us/speed/raid/aac/linux/aacraid-linux-src-1_2_1-29900_tgz.htm
Here is a link to the DKMS file: http://www.adaptec.com/en-us/speed/raid/aac/linux/aacraid-dkms-1_2_1-29900_tgz.htm

Thanks,

Luis

Hi there,

I'm having the same issues with Adaptec 7805, maybe someone is able to create a patched iso with the newest aacraid drivers.

Thanks!

we have the following in our latest kernel (pve-kernel-2.6.32-18-pve: 2.6.32-88):

Code:
modinfo aacraid

filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.32-18-pve/kernel/drivers/scsi/aacraid/aacraid.ko
version:        1.2-1[29900]custom
license:        GPL
description:    Dell PERC2, 2/Si, 3/Si, 3/Di, Adaptec Advanced Raid Products, HP NetRAID-4M, IBM ServeRAID & ICP SCSI driver
author:         Red Hat Inc and Adaptec