Home server project. (Questions regarding storage setup)

danell

Feb 5, 2013
First of all, I am a real newbie to this, so please bare with me, and please don't just direct me to google.

I have a server with a 500 gb sata disk, and a raid consisting of 4x 2TB hdd in raid 5 (hardware raid). It is just an old dual core pc with some extra disks and a raid card.

Anyhow, I was fiddeling with the thought of turning it into a multipurpose home server.
By surfing some around I came across Proxmox, but with hours of internet trawling, I still have some questions regarding what directions I should take in my setup.
I want to setup a file server who serves my home network with media files and users personal file storage.
I also want to set up, mail server, web server and so forth (other suggestions is gratefully received).

My question is:
What is the best practice in term of storage setup? (mainly openvz, but maybe kvm in the future)

My thoughts are:
Install proxmox on the 500GB server and run all my servers/containers from there?
Then partition my raid with lvm in one big volume and mount it to my fileservers container?

...or is the best practice to put the containers directly on my big raid and store all the data

directly inside the containers? (my fileserver will consume the most of the storage)

...or is the best practice some other solution?

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

Best regards
Danell

Firstly, check the hardware RAID compatibility for PM VE. That caught me off guard before. A decent brand RAID card is important here (ie. LSI, Adaptec, etc.). There's a page on the Wiki with a list of adapters that have been tested.