Large proxmox installations (clusters!). I need some developer's attention

RRJ

Apr 14, 2010
Estonia, Tallinn
Hello,

I've been using proxmox for a while (3 years in total), but in single mode.
Today we've got about 300 000 eur for hardware, which will be used for cluster virtualization platform.
All we want is two performance clusters in high availability cluster. In other words, we want to have two racks full of hardware, where one rack is a high-performace cluster and other with same type of hardware, which is used for high availability cluster. Can proxmox handle this?

Looking for an answer as soon as possible.

Thank you.

Thank you for an answer.
Could you give us some basic installation tips, so we could start with tests? The hardware tender will be published next week, but software tender will be published at the beginnig of summer, if we will not be able to configure proxmox till that time.
So basically the configuration should be looking like:
1. install proxmox in the first rack in high-performance cluster
2. install proxmox in the second rack in high-performance cluster
3. what would be this step? We should put in HA only those two DC-s or each physical server?

Will blade servers give us some flexibility ? They are typically hot-swap.
We are not commercial organization. We run Library and this cluster would be used for internal needs, so we won't have to install new hardware each time, we need a server.

what's your problem with proxmox wiki, all informations you need are on the wiki. Just RTFM! :)

any hints or at least some manual link ?

Hi,
1. you should play with an pve-cluster to see how live-migration works (some people have not the right idea about shared storage and so on). You can use simple PCs for that (need hw-virtualisation, but this is normal today)

2. be sure that your shared storage for your ha is also ha!

3. test ha - testing is good for all, but for ha it's mandantory

Udo