Storage Setup Help

benaust

Jan 23, 2013
Hi Guys

Got my hand on a server ( Supermicro, IPMI, 16Gig Ram, 2 E5420 Xeon, 3ware Raid Card, 3 by PS ), I tried a lot of stuff to create virtual Environment Platform. like Centos with OpenVZ, VMware Free, anyhow none really worked or I run into problems due to one simple reason, I am not only new to going and setting up VPS, I have no Linux experience and how I got here is just by reading and understanding very little since I have no background, but I like the challenge and like to learn.

Now my problem, either due to lack of Linux or comprehending, anyhow...

I have setup the server with few raids as below;
- Raid Set 1 is ( 2 x 250Gig Raid 1 "Mirror" ) which I selected for installation of PVE
- Raid Set 2 is ( 4 x 750Gig Raid 10 ) so is another to set of raids Raid Set 3 and Raid Set 4

I basically tried to create raids with maximum capacity size of less than 2Tbit, which from my understanding is the limits for Proxmox VE, could be wrong and do appreciate a correction if the case.

After installing ran into a problem using IPMI, had to update the packages for Debian and Proxmox as well as the ATI issue involving "/etc/X11/xorg.conf", anyhow that done and fix now I have storage issue and need also recommendation, sorry to sound so demanding, but have exhausted my resources.

Just because I am a windows user I have basically based my logic in that manor I think by trying to separate system disk from data and appointing different data of in this case virtual environment in different drives "Raid Set".

Therefore I like to have the small Raid 1 for system and use the other 3 raids for data. Have read and done all the pvcreate, vgcreate, lvcreate. When logged in to the Proxmox panel via IPAddresss:8006.
- I try to add directory I get errors for my path
- I add lvm when viewing the storage on the left it is 59.97Gig where it should be 1300Gig.