vlan set up

RobFantini

Famous Member
May 24, 2012
Boston,Mass
Hello,
This is my first attempt to set up vlan.

We have a Netgear layer 3 switch.

Pfsense is used for a router/gateway .

On the switch 3 ports are set up as vlan5 and connected to a nic on 3 proxmox hosts.

The test vlan network is 10.1.1.0/24 .

the 3 pve systems have a vmbr set up like this:
Code:
auto vmbr4
iface vmbr4 inet static 
        address  10.1.1.241
        netmask  255.255.255.0
        bridge_ports eth4
        bridge_stp on
        bridge_fd 0

the can ping each other.

each pve system has a kvm set up like this:
Code:
net0: virtio=12:C7:B5:4E:24:46,bridge=vmbr4,tag=5

However the from pve I can not ping the kvm's .

Nor can the kvm's ping out. or each other.

interfaces in kvm are like this:
Code:
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
  address 10.1.1.51
  netmask 255.255.255.0
  gateway 10.1.1.1

I've tried using e1000 and not vitrio nics.

Any clues on how to get this working?

is the kvm's gateway accessible, can you ping it?
does the gateway do NAT and allow to forward packages?
Also remember that unless explicitly configured on the switch intervlan communication is strictly forbidden.

What model is your Netgear switch. AFAIK no Netgear switch of the branch smart switch is layer 3 capable.

Last edited:
mir,
thank you for the response.

I realized that the reason the pve systems may be able to ping each other is that the interface does not have vlan5 assigned. So next I'll test a pve <> pve ping after I get that set up.

Do you have a suggestion on setting up the hosts interface file for vlan ?

the switch model info http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122156
GSM7328S - NetGear GSM7328S - 24 GE, 4 TENGIG . .
Code: